February Books of The Month! [Full Review + Synopsis]





















Even though February is the shortest month of the year, I have been really into reading as much as I can!

Reading is such a relaxing hobby and a true passion of mine and I hope you all are enjoying the book club as much as I am!

Again, I want to thank you all for your support and for taking the time to read my posts. It means so much to me. If you have any book suggestions or comments be sure to leave them down below!

Now onto the books lol.

Let's Be Friends:
Serious Business Inquiries: Click HERE.

I started out the month pretty light in terms of reading. Last month I kept things super light with a graphic novel and decided to continue riding that wave lol.





















When I was browsing the GN section and came across,Meg, Jo,Beth, and Amy by Rey Terciero I was immediately intrigued. As a child I remember reading the classic novel Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. When I had discovered that they had written a modernized, graphic novel I jumped at the chance to read it!

I’m not gonna lie either, I was a bit apprehensive about reading this novel and was nervous that it would err on the side of corny and childish, but I was pleasantly surprised. I actually found the novel to be a refreshing take on the lengthy original.

While the GN version isn’t nearly as long as the original, I felt that for a graphic novel, and considering the subject matter at heart, the author did a WONDERFUL job at making the GN relatable, interesting and engaging. The book is broken up into chapters, and I thought that it covered all the basic themes, conflicts and issues the original had exceptionally well. Among some of the conflicts and issues addressed were: social class, sexuality, illness, familial tensions, bullying, relationships, etc.  I thought the graphics were nicely designed and the storyline flowed seamlessly. I literally couldn’t put the book down!
Overall I would definitely recommend this book whether you’re familiar with the original or not. I definitely think you’ll enjoy it either way.

*A note on the subject matter: While browsing the reviews of this book, I noticed that there were quite a few reviews left by concerned parents who felt that some of the subject matter in the book was too “mature” or inappropriate for younger children. While I personally have no issue with either side, I will say that if you feel the subject matter is not to your liking for your child or your own personal preferences, I would use your discretion.
Final Review:4/5
πŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“š
Below is the official synopsis as well as WHERE TO BUY:

Little Women with a twist: four sisters from a blended family experience the challenges and triumphs of life in NYC in this beautiful full-color graphic novel perfect for fans of Roller Girl and Smile.

Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy are having a really tough year: with their father serving in the military overseas, they must work overtime to make ends meet...and each girl is struggling in her own way. Whether it's school woes, health issues, boy troubles, or simply feeling lost, the March sisters all need the same thing: support from each other. Only by coming together--and sharing lots of laughs and tears--will these four young women find the courage to discover who they truly are as individuals...and as a family.
Meg is the eldest March, and she has a taste for the finer things in life. She dreams of marrying rich, enjoying fabulous clothes and parties, and leaving her five-floor walk-up apartment behind.
Jo pushes her siblings to be true to themselves, yet feels like no one will accept her for who she truly is. Her passion for writing gives her an outlet to feel worthy in the eyes of her friends and family.
Beth is the shy sister with a voice begging to be heard. But with a guitar in hand, she finds a courage that inspires her siblings to seize the day and not take life for granted.
Amy may be the baby of the family, but she has the biggest personality. Though she loves to fight with her sisters, her tough exterior protects a vulnerable heart that worries about her family's future. 

Purchase HERE and HERE.
Being as how I finished the first book within just a day, I decided to squeeze in another book for this month!

For my next book, I wanted to read something a bit more informative and not as “light” in context.

I came across Little Black Book by Otegha Uwagba by chance while browsing and immediately wanted to dive into this quick but informative read.

For those of you who may not know, every once in a while I love to read a good business book just in case I wake up one day and decide I want to start a business lol. I’m usually pretty particular about what business book I like to read and prefer a more informal, yet engaging business book. I like a book that is both relatable and reads more like girl chat mixed with some business advice and words of encouragement over coffee. When I came across Little Black Book that’s exactly the type of book it was.

At just under 150 pages this short read covers everything from branding, to finances, to legal advice, to a Q & A portion.

What I loved the most about this book was that it was geared to female entrepreneurs and freelancers. I love a good “Boss Babe” style book that is equally inspiring and uplifting as it is informative. I also like how the author managed to tie in some great business tips, tricks and advice in an informal manner.
I think you’ll enjoy this book whether you’re a novice in the business world and just starting out, or you’re a seasoned pro just looking to brush up on some things. Either way, I’d definitely recommend giving this book a quick read and skim through—trust me, you WON’T regret it!
Final Review:4/5
πŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“š
Below is the official synopsis as well where you can purchase.
Little Black Book is THE book of the year for working women with drive’ Refinery 29
The essential career handbook for creative working women.
‘A compact gem’ Stylist
Little Black Book: A Toolkit For Working Women is the modern career guide every creative woman needs, whether you’re just starting out or already have years of experience. Packed with fresh ideas and no-nonsense practical advice, this travel-sized career handbook is guaranteed to become your go-to resource when it comes to building the career you want.
Writer Otegha Uwagba (one of Forbes European 30 Under 30) takes you through everything you need to build a successful self-made career: from how to negotiate a payrise to building a killer personal brand, via a crash course in networking like a pro, and tips for overcoming creative block. Plus Little Black Book is full of indispensable advice on how to thrive as a freelancer, and an entire chapter dedicated to helping you master the tricky art of public speaking.
With contributions from trailblazing creative women including acclaimed author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Refinery29 co-founder Piera Gelardi, The Gentlewoman's Editor in Chief Penny Martin, and many more, Little Black Book is a curation of essential wisdom and hard-won career insights. Whether you’re a thinker, a maker, an artist or an entrepreneur, you’ll find plenty of inspiration for your working life here.
Buy it HERE.
As always, leave a comment down below if you read these books before. Let me know your thoughts or comments! Happy Reading!

1 comment:

  1. Was a good platform for us to run Roba reside for the first time. Here, all of the individuals and current and future partners had been place to} see Roba in all his appeal and μŠ¬λ‘―λ¨Έμ‹  energy,” he says. It could have just launched a probably huge innovation for land-based casinos, but Creedroomz isn’t resting on its laurels. Hambardzumyan says Creedroomz is committed to exceeding the preliminary novelty issue of Roba via constant innovation and updating of the processes. It varieties part of of} the business’ continued efforts to enhance player experience.

    ReplyDelete